#BRMondays – The Negotiator by Avery Flynn

Published April 24th, 2017 by Entangled: Amara
Print Length: 292 pages
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Romance

four-star

Amazon / Goodreads

My Review

I’ve read this book a few months ago and just now posting this review but it still stands. I went to check it again before hitting publish because I wanted to be sure. I can tell you that I remembered why I liked this story with just a few notes here and there from my Kindle app.

As personal buffers go Clover Lee is the best I’ve seen in a book at this point in my life. She’s hilariously funny and even when she makes mistakes, she does it with style. Her awkwardness clicked with me somehow.

Sawyer Carlyle is the owner of an international company but he’s scared of his mother and her tactics. I know the feeling so I could empathize with him when my mother gets an idea there is no way to deter her… normally.

The plot of the story had some ups and downs when it came to being realistic. I know this is a fiction romance book but I like some realistic aspects to it.

I have no complaints about the writing because I did not look or saw any blatant mistakes there. The story flow was good and I liked the level of detail that Avery Flynn used in this book.

When it comes to the sex scenes, because this book has them, they are not for everybody because of the level of details that the author uses is very high. If you don’t enjoy that kind of writing on steamy scenes, I don’t know what to tell you, maybe skip the sex? But where’s the fun in that?

All that being said, I would recommend you to give this book a try. I laughed a lot and have to use the AC a lot while reading this story. Maybe you can find the fun in its pages like I did.

About the Author

USA Today bestselling romance author Avery Flynn has three slightly-wild children, loves a hockey-addicted husband and is desperately hoping someone invents the coffee IV drip.

She fell in love with romance while reading Johanna Lindsey’s Mallory books. It wasn’t long before Avery had read through all the romance offerings at her local library. Needing a romance fix, she turned to Harlequin’s four books a month home delivery service to ease the withdrawal symptoms. That worked for a short time, but it wasn’t long before the local bookstore’s staffs knew her by name.

Avery was a reader before she was a writer and hopes to always be both. She loves to write about smartass alpha heroes who are as good with a quip as they are with their *ahem* other God-given talents. Her heroines are feisty, fierce and fantastic. Brainy and brave, these ladies know how to stand on their own two feet and knock the bad guys off theirs.

Website / Facebook / Instagram / Twitter / Youtube

#BRMondays – Veronica’s Dragon by Ruby Dixon

victoria-dragon-cover

Published May 24th, 2018
Print Length: 280 pages
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Shapeshifters, Dragons, Science Fiction, Aliens, Fantasy

four-half-star

Amazon / Goodreads

My Review

Since I picked one of Ruby’s books some time ago, I’ve been a die-hard fan of her Ice Planet Barbarian series. This book belongs to a spin-off series called IceHome that feature some of my beloved characters from the other series.

Veronica is a clumsy female that was abducted from earth to be sold as a slave but before she got to be one, she was set free on an ice freezing cold planet. She thought nothing of herself, she believes there was nothing special about her, but when she got her khui… Oh, she was more special than she could have thought.

Ashtar was a dragon shifter from another planet, abducted when he was eight to be sold as a slave and became a gladiator. He knew no freedom during his life, no friendship, no trust, no nothing, only fighting in the Arena and if he lost, he died. When his khui resonated with Veronica he couldn’t have been happier because she already was on his radar as soon as he woke up. But having a human mate was not easy and a compromise was necessary, and he wasn’t used to that.

To think that I was stolen from my planet to be a gladiator and somehow ended up with the finest mate in three worlds… I am beyond lucky. This is a good life. ~ Ashtar

Do I have to explain to you how much I love this couple? It was so much fun to forget normal boring human life (mine) and got into an ice planet with a mighty dragon as a mate. I love to see the growth and development of Veronica each day that she was with him alone, away from the tribe.

I know these books are fantasy but how they get to solve their problems can be so relatable. The struggles Ashtar went through, to be honest with his mate. The way Veronica had to adapt to his moods and behaviors. How he got to grow as a male by making friends and learning to do things for his mate.

Somehow being in a deserted planet, even a fantasy one, makes you see how many things we take for granted on a day to day basis. Other stories make this too but Veronica’s Dragon was beautiful to read and to get lost in.

For those of you that know the author and the other series, Ashtar is a drakoni like the dragons in the Fireblood Dragons series but according to the author, he was raised completely differently so he does not behave exactly like them.

She needs me to go slow. She needs time to adjust to this bond between us. She__
She is grabbing my cock… ~ Ashtar

Also, in case you haven’t notice… most of the books I read have sex scenes in them and this is not an exception to that rule *big grin*

I strongly recommend you to pick this book up. You don’t need to read the previous ones or other series because this stands on its own but I can assure you, it won’t be long before you’re reading the rest to get to know beautiful characters.

About the Author

Ruby Dixon loves to write sexy, dirty things. Right now she’s obsessed with dirty aliens. She’s also dabbled in dirty bikers, dirty bears, and well, just dirty things in general.

Website / Amazon / Facebook

#BRMondays – Queen Takes Knights by Joely Sue Burkhart

queen-takes-knights-cover

Published October 17th, 2017
Amazon Kindle: 188 pages
Genre: Paranormal, Romance, Erotica, Menage, Fantasy, Bisexual Romance, LGBT

four-half-star

Buy on Amazon | Add to Goodreads

SYNOPSIS FROM GOODREADS

A Reverse Harem Vampire Romance.

A lost virgin vampire queen. Two vampire knights sworn to protect her.
It’s about to get very hot… and bloody…

Ever since her mother was murdered by monsters five years ago, Shara Isador has been on the run. Alone, scared, and exhausted, she’s finally cornered in Eureka Springs, Arkansas. Out of hope with nowhere else to turn, she’s ready to end it all when two men come to her rescue.

They say she’s a lost queen descended from Isis, and they’re her Blood, vampire knights sworn to protect her. It all seems like a crazy nightmare, until the alpha offers his blood. Then she realizes she’s never wanted anything more. Except maybe his body… and his friend’s, too.

But they’re not the only ones searching for a lost queen. Shara must learn how to wield her new powers quickly and conquer her fears if she intends to keep them all alive.

Continue reading #BRMondays – Queen Takes Knights by Joely Sue Burkhart

#BRMondays – The List by CJ Hunt

the-list-cover

Published December 8th, 2017 by Thigh High Ink
Amazon Kindle: 117 pages
Genre: Multicultural & Interracial, Holiday Romance

Buy on Amazon | Add to Goodreads

SYNOPSIS FROM GOODREADS

Come home to Rivers End and discover the ghosts of Christmases past…

When Selina Peterman arrives in Rivers End one stormy night, it’s disorienting enough to discover she’s inherited a house. But when she learns that the house is filled to the rafters with junk—and uncomfortable family secrets—all she wants is to clean it, sell it, and get the heck out. No problem, except that she’s about to meet the biggest complication of all: the gorgeous caretaker who’s living there.

Connor O’Donnell knows he shouldn’t get involved with the sexy granddaughter of the man he’d looked up to for so long. He’s not sure he’s even ready for a relationship, and getting involved with someone he knows isn’t going to stick around is risky—if not outright stupid. But with the snow falling outside and Christmas on the way, it’s all too easy for the two of them to stay inside and play house. It’s only for a few days, right?

Rivers End romances can be read independently, but you’ll probably have the most fun with you if you explore the town and its inabitants more fully. These are novella-length stories that can be read chronologically in story time, or chronogically in smaller connected groups of stories and characters. Both options are listed below.

Continue reading #BRMondays – The List by CJ Hunt

#BRMondays – A Cruel Kind of Beautiful by Michelle Hazen

cruel-kind-of-beautiful-cov

Published December 4th, 2017
Amazon Kindle: 288 pages
Genre: Contemporary Romance, New Adult, College, Woman’s Fiction

four-half-star

Buy on Amazon | Add to Goodreads

SYNOPSIS FROM GOODREADS

If you can’t get to the Big O, can you get to the happily ever after?

Jera McKnight loves music, swoons for hot guys, but sucks at sex. Jacob Tate is her perfect storm: a pun-loving nude model with a heart as big as his record collection.

When a newspaper-delivery accident lands him in her living room, he’s almost tempting enough to make her forget she’s never been able to please a man–in bed or out of it. Sure, he laughs at her obscure jokes, and he’ll even accept a PG-rating if it means he gets time with her, but he’s also hiding something. And it has everything to do with the off-limits room in his apartment.

Jera pours all her confusion and longing into her drum kit, which pays off when her band lands the record deal of their dreams. Except just like Jacob, it might be too good to come without a catch.

She doesn’t know if her music is good enough to attract a better contract, or if she’s enough to tempt a man like Jacob to give up his secrets–even if they could fix her problems between the sheets. But if this rocker girl is too afraid to bet on herself, she might just end up playing to an empty house.

Fans of Alice Clayton’s Wallbanger or Kylie Scott will love this addictive new series because of its quick sense of humor and adorable found family. Click now if you want to instantly escape into the world of Jera and Jacob’s romance.

Continue reading #BRMondays – A Cruel Kind of Beautiful by Michelle Hazen